Understanding NHTSA Safety Ratings

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, or NHTSA, rates vehicles on their overall safety as well as their stability in regard to rollovers. One of the most widely recognized aspects of these safety ratings are their “stars;” NHTSA awards each vehicle a certain number of stars out of five for their overall safety. Unfortunately, many SUVs have a high risk for rollovers, which greatly decreases their safety ratings.

If you own an SUV and have been involved in a rollover accident with that vehicle, you could be eligible to receive financial compensation from the vehicle’s manufacturer. Contact the experienced SUV rollover lawsuits lawyers of the Willis Law Firm today by calling 800-883-9858 to discuss your options.

Vehicle Safety Testing

A vehicle’s rollover risk has a substantial effect on a vehicle’s safety rating. Thus, the NHTSA considers many different factors when rating a vehicle for rollover accidents, including:

  • Speed at which the vehicle can turn safely
  • Center of gravity of the vehicle
  • Width of the wheel base

A vehicle must have a rollover risk less than 10% in order to receive five stars for its NHTSA safety rating. However, most SUVs have a much higher risk of rollover accidents, significantly decreasing the amount of stars the vehicles can receive.

Contact Us

If you or someone you know has been injured in a rollover accident, the manufacturer of the vehicle may be at fault for creating an unsafe SUV. Contact the dedicated SUV rollover lawsuits attorneys of the Willis Law Firm today by calling 800-883-9858 to learn more about your legal rights.